This is not my city link
Find a Cleburne County DUI Attorney

What You Need to Know About Alabama DUI Law in Cleburne County

Alabama is considered an "actual physical control" state. This means that if a Heflin police officer finds you in a vehicle, even if you are not operating it, you can be found guilty of a Cleburne County DUI. This means that if you are founding sleeping in your vehicle or even if your vehicle isn't even turned on, you can still be arrested for a DUI in Alabama.

Alabama has an implied consent law. Implied consent means that since you have a driver's license, you have agreed to a breathalyzer test. If you refused a breathalyzer test at the time of your Cleburne County DUI arrest, your driver's license will be suspended for 90 days without the option to apply for a restricted license. Alabama has a "lookback" period of 5 years. If you are arrested for another Cleburne County DUI within a five year period of your previous one, it will be treated as a second offense. If it has been more than five years, it will be handled as a first offense.


A fourth DUI arrest is a felony. According to Alabama DUI law, depending on the details of your case, first, second and third DUI convictions are considered misdemeanors. A fourth DUI conviction is considered a felony. However, this does not mean that a misdemeanor conviction will be any easier. In fact recently, Alabama ruled to double the punishment for any DUI arrest - including a first time offense- where the offender's BAC level was twice the limit or if any damage occurred.

This is why it is absolutely necessary to hire an experienced Heflin DUI attorney to fight your Cleburne County DUI charges no matter the circumstance. Alabama DUI law can cause a lot of damage to your personal life and can cost you more than you think. Find an experienced DUI attorney today.

Cleburne County Courthouse


Image via Wikipedia 

Cleburne County Courthouse
120 Vickery St # 204
Heflin, AL

(256) 463-5655

 


View Larger Map
DISCLAIMER: No representation is made that the quality of legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers.

DUI lawyer listings are a paid DUI attorney advertisement and do not in any way constitute a referral or endorsement by an approved or authorized lawyer referral service other than 1.800.DUI.LAWS.

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy