Ed Ryan, Tennessee DUI lawyer, speaks with legal analyst Lisa Bloom about Tennessee DUI laws. Tennessee has strict penalties for DUI convictions. According to Ed, even first-time DUI offenders must spend 48 hours in jail. In addition, if you’re arrested for DUI in Tennessee, you face the loss of your driver’s license for one year.
Fortunately, there are defense strategies for DUI cases. Contacting a DUI lawyer immediately after an arrest will help your case. The lawyer will be able to speak with witnesses, review the scene of the arrest and get a clearer picture of exactly what happened the arrest.
In these tough economic times, it may seem impossible to find the funds to hire a DUI attorney. However, as Ed explains, the cost of pleading guilty to a Tennessee DUI is more expensive than a great defense team. Statistics show that someone convicted for DUI in Tennessee will end up paying $10,000 to $15,000 in fees, DUI class tuition, court fees, car insurance and more.
A DUI conviction can haunt you emotionally, as well. According to Ed, expungement is not an option for a Tennessee DUI. That means that a Tennessee DUI conviction will follow you around for the rest of your life.
For more helpful information about Tennessee DUI laws, watch Ed’s interview with Lisa. If you have been arrested for DUI, contact Ed Ryan for a FREE consultation.