Increased DUI Patrols in North Dakota

Comments

Areas around Bismarck, ND will be increasing their DUI patrols from Friday, June 21 until Sunday, June 30. If you’re going to be in this area during this time period, be sure to take precautions or hire an attorney if you do get arrested.

Police departments will be adding more DUI patrols in the counties of Mercer, Sheridan, Burleigh, Morton and Grant. Additionally, expect additional DUI patrols in Beaulah, Mandan, Bismarck and Lincoln.

If you get pulled over for a DUI, make sure to hand the police officers your paperwork, state your name and submit to a breathalyzer test to avoid a license suspension. Remember, you don’t have to answer any questions without your attorney present.

This DUI crackdown is a part of North Dakota’s “Don’t Forget to Designate a Driver” Program or TODD. TODD is offering a safe ride program to people who need a ride home. All you have to do is text 88202 and tell them your location. This safe ride program is offered to ND residents in the areas of Bisman, Devil’s Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, Grandforks, Jamesvc, Minot, Newtown, and Williston.

If you do get arrested for a DUI, just because you made a mistake doesn’t mean you don’t deserve exceptional legal defense. Don’t go into court unrepresented. Find a DUI lawyer to learn that you still have options.

 

New North Dakota DUI Laws

Comments

A new bill has been signed into law in North Dakota that will likely affect all drivers arrested for a DUI after August 1st of this year. Governor Jack Dalrymple has signed into law House Bill 1302 which calls for harsher penalties for DUI offenders, especially for first-time DUI offenders.

Here are some the new DUI laws that will affect many North Dakota drivers.

Aggravated DUI: If you’re arrested for a DUI and your BAC was .16 % or higher, your charges will increase to an offense that will now be known as an aggravated DUI. If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI, you will have to spend 2 days in jail or complete community service.

Repeat Offenders: Not only will repeat offenders be required to face jail time, they will also be required to enroll in a 24/7 sobriety program.

Class A Felony: If a DUI results in the death of another, the DUI will be considered a Class A Felony. The offender will be required to serve 3 to 20 years in prison, depending on the nature of the crime.

Class C Felony: If injury resulted from a DUI, the offender will be facing a Class C Felony. He or she could face up to 2 years in jail if found guilty.

Obviously these laws may prove to be effective in keeping the roads safer in North Dakota and reduce the amount of repeat DUI offenders. However, it also means that more patrols and DUI checkpoints may take place throughout the state. It is important to understand that more police will be on the road, scouting for drunk drivers. Be careful, North Dakota!

While it is integral that you should never drink and drive, it is important for North Dakota drivers to understand that the judicial process can be very complex. If you get arrested for drinking and driving in North Dakota, don’t go into court alone. Hire an experienced DUI attorney and fight your charges.

Now that the penalties have increased, a DUI conviction can be very detrimental to your life. A DUI attorney understands what is at stake for you and will fight maintain your privileges and help you avoid jail.

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, contact a DUI attorney today!