Driver's License Consequences
 

California counties - map view

California counties - map view

Washout Period for Prior Convictions:
Seven years.

Age 21 or Over, With Chemical Test:

  • 1st Offense: Four months, with restricted license (to/from work, to/from alcohol education program) available after 30 days.
  • 2nd Offense: One year suspension.
  • 3rd Offense: Two year revocation.
  • 4th Offense: Three year revocation.

Refusal:

  • 1st Offense: License suspension for one year, with no possibility of provisional or restricted license.
  • 2nd Offense: License suspension for two years.
  • 3rd Offense: License suspension for three years.
  • 4th Offense: License revocation for four years.

Under 21: For drivers under 21, a one year license suspension will be imposed, with no opportunity for a restricted license from the DMV.

Court Consequences

Jail, Fine, Alcohol School, Ignition Interlock Device, Other Educational Programs, etc.

1st Offense:
Varies from court to court. Some courts do not require jail time on a first-offense, unless there are grounds for a sentence enhancement (such as a minor in the car, a BAC of .20 or higher, refusing the chemical test, or others). Other courts require some jail time (48 hours to 10 days), even on a first offense.

The required alcohol education program will also vary. The standard program is once a week for 12 weeks; however, where the BAC is .20 or higher, a six-month program will be ordered.

top

2nd Offense:
By law, the mandatory minimum jail time on a second offense DUI is 96 hours, although this can be served in two 48-hour periods. Some courts will allow city jail. Still other courts will routinely impose much harsher jail sentences on a second-offense DUI, with sentences of 30 days or more.

The alcohol education program for a second offense DUI is 18 months long. An ignition interlock device may be required.

3rd Offense:
A mandatory minimum jail sentence of 120 days.

4th Offense:
A fourth offense DUI conviction is a "wobbler", meaning it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. Punishment can range from up to one year in county jail, up to three years in state prison.

top

Sentencing Enhancements

What are they, and what impact do they typically have in court?

  • Refusal to take the chemical test;
  • BAC .20 or higher;
  • Speeding 20 miles per hour above speed limit on side streets, or 30 mph over the speed limit on the freeway, where driving recklessly and DUI, requires 60 days in jail;
  • Minor in car while driver DUI;
  • Traffic Accident;
  • Prior convictions.

Any of these sentencing enhancements can result in additional fines, jail time, impounding of the car, required attendance at AA meetings or other educational programs, attendance at a Mothers' Against Drunk Driving Victim Impact Panel, attendance at the Hospital and Morgue Program, or other possible consequences.



Drunk driving defense is a specialized area. Let one of the qualified DUI LAWS attorneys find a solution to your legal problem if you, or someone you care about, has been arrested for DUI or DWI. Contact a DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free consultation at 1.800.DUI.LAWS.

Please note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance. 1800DUILAWS.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

1800duilaws.com Accessibility Statement



Updated: March 2019.

General


1800duilaws.com strives to ensure that its services are accessible to people with disabilities. 1800duilaws.com has invested a significant amount of resources to help ensure that its website is made easier to use and more accessible for people with disabilities, with the strong belief that every person has the right to live with dignity, equality, comfort and independence.

Accessibility on 1800duilaws.com


1800duilaws.com makes available the UserWay Website Accessibility Widget that is powered by a dedicated accessibility server. The software allows 1800duilaws.com to improve its compliance with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1).


Enabling the Accessibility Menu


The 1800duilaws.com accessibility menu can be enabled by clicking the accessibility menu icon that appears on the corner of the page. After triggering the accessibility menu, please wait a moment for the accessibility menu to load in its entirety.


Disclaimer


1800duilaws.com continues its efforts to constantly improve the accessibility of its site and services in the belief that it is our collective moral obligation to allow seamless, accessible and unhindered use also for those of us with disabilities.

Despite our efforts to make all pages and content on 1800duilaws.com fully accessible, some content may not have yet been fully adapted to the strictest accessibility standards. This may be a result of not having found or identified the most appropriate technological solution.


Here For You


If you are experiencing difficulty with any content on 1800duilaws.com or require assistance with any part of our site, please contact us during normal business hours as detailed below and we will be happy to assist.


Contact Us


If you wish to report an accessibility issue, have any questions or need assistance, please contact 1800duilaws.com Customer Support as follows:

Email: info@legalbrandmarketing.com

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy