California DUI Penalties
 

California counties - map view

California counties - map view


CALIFORNIA CRIMINAL AND DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLE PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

CRIMINAL SENTENCES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL AND/OR DRUGS
(VEHICLE CODE SECTION 23152)


OFFENSE MINIMUM AND MAXIMUM SENTENCES WHEN PROBATION IS GRANTED (3 TO 5 YEARS PROBATION TERM) MINIMUM AND MAXIMUM SENTENCES WITHOUT PROBATION
FIRST Offense within 10 years Two options, both requiring attendance at a 3 month or 6 month alcohol/drug program, a fine of $390 to $1000, plus either: (A) 48 hours to 6 months in jail; or (B) for arrests prior to September 20, 2005, a 90-day license restriction. Under option (A), the Court may also suspend your license for 6 months. Under either option, your license shall be suspended for 6 months if the offense occurred in a vehicle which requires a class 1, 2, A, or B license. As a result of the court conviction, the DMV will suspend your license for 6 months, but a restricted license may be available. 96 hours to 6 months in jail, $390 to $1000 fine, and a 6 month license suspension.
SECOND Offense within 10 years Two options, both carrying a fine of $390 to $1000, plus either: (A) 10 days to 1 year in jail and a 2 year license suspension; or (B) 96 hours to 1 year in jail, an 18-month or 30-month alcohol/drug program, and for arrests prior to September 20, 2005, a license restriction allowing driving only for work and alcohol/drug program for the duration of the program. However, your license shall be suspended for 2 years if the offense occured in a vehicle which requires a class 1, 2, A, or B license. Installation of interlocking device for up to 3 years. As a result of the court conviction, the DMV will suspend your license for 2 years, but a restricted license may be available after the first year of suspension. 90 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1000 fine, and a 2 year license suspension.
THIRD Offense within 10 years 120 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1000 fine, a 3-year license revocation, and an 18-month or 30 month alcohol/drug program if you have not completed one before. 120 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1000 fine, and a 3-year license revocation.
FOURTH or Subsequent Offense within 10 years 180 days to 1 year in jail, $390 to $1000 fine, a 4 year license revocation, and an 18-month or 30 month alcohol/drug program if you have not completed one before. 16 months, or 2 or 3 years in state prison, or 180 days to 1 year in county jail; $390 to $1000 fine, and a 4-year license revocation.
DMV PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL AND/OR DRUGS
FIRST Offense .08 or greater 4 month suspension
Refusal 1 year suspension
SECOND Offense Within 10 years .08 or greater 1 year suspension
Refusal 2 year revocation
THIRD Offense Within 10 years .08 or greater 3 year revocation
Refusal 3 year revocation
FOURTH Offense Within 10 years .08 or greater 4 year revocation
Refusal 4 year revocation

 

Drunk driving defense is a specialized area. Let one of the qualified DUI LAWS attorneys find a solution to your legal problem if you, or someone you care about, has been arrested for DUI or DWI. Contact a DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free consultation at 1.800.DUI.LAWS.

Please note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance. 1800DUILAWS.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

1800duilaws.com Accessibility Statement



Updated: March 2019.

General


1800duilaws.com strives to ensure that its services are accessible to people with disabilities. 1800duilaws.com has invested a significant amount of resources to help ensure that its website is made easier to use and more accessible for people with disabilities, with the strong belief that every person has the right to live with dignity, equality, comfort and independence.

Accessibility on 1800duilaws.com


1800duilaws.com makes available the UserWay Website Accessibility Widget that is powered by a dedicated accessibility server. The software allows 1800duilaws.com to improve its compliance with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1).


Enabling the Accessibility Menu


The 1800duilaws.com accessibility menu can be enabled by clicking the accessibility menu icon that appears on the corner of the page. After triggering the accessibility menu, please wait a moment for the accessibility menu to load in its entirety.


Disclaimer


1800duilaws.com continues its efforts to constantly improve the accessibility of its site and services in the belief that it is our collective moral obligation to allow seamless, accessible and unhindered use also for those of us with disabilities.

Despite our efforts to make all pages and content on 1800duilaws.com fully accessible, some content may not have yet been fully adapted to the strictest accessibility standards. This may be a result of not having found or identified the most appropriate technological solution.


Here For You


If you are experiencing difficulty with any content on 1800duilaws.com or require assistance with any part of our site, please contact us during normal business hours as detailed below and we will be happy to assist.


Contact Us


If you wish to report an accessibility issue, have any questions or need assistance, please contact 1800duilaws.com Customer Support as follows:

Email: info@legalbrandmarketing.com

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy