Michigan DUI Law

Michigan counties - map view

Michigan counties - map view

 

Michigan DUI Criminal Sentencing, 1st Offense (no prior 625 Crime)

Summary of Michigan OUIL / OWI / DWI / UBAL Criminal Laws
Criminal Sentencing / Administrative Consequences - Repeat Offender
(OUIL / OWI / DWI, Alcohol Convictions)

OUIL / UBAC / OUID §625(1)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: 1 or more of following: Up to 93 days jail; $100-$500 fine; up to 45 days comm svc.
  • Licensing: 30/150 Susp./rest
  • Plate conf: None
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None

OWI §625(3)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: 1 or more of following: Up to 93 days jail; up to $300 fine; up to 45 days comm svc.
  • Licensing: 90 day rest
  • Plate conf: None
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None

OUIL / OWI Death / Injury §625(4)&(5)

  • Felony Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Death - prison up to 15 years OR $2,500-$10,000 fine, or both.
  • Injury -prison up to 5 years OR $1,000-$5,000 fine OR both. Emergency Responder
  • Death-prison up to 20 years or $2,500 to $10,000 fine, or both.
  • Licensing: minimum 1 year revocation/denial
  • Plate conf: Required
  • Immob: Required up to 180 days [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: Permissive

Zero Tolerance §625(6)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Up to $250 fine OR up to 45 days comm svc, or both.
  • Licensing: 30 day rest.
  • Plate conf: None
  • Immob: None [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None

Child Endangement §625(7)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: $200-$1,000 fine AND one or more of the following: 5days to 1year jail; 30-90 days comm svc.
  • Licensing: 90/90 susp./rest.
  • Plate conf: None
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: Permissive

.04 CDL §625m(1)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Up to $300 fine OR up to 93 days jail, or both.
  • Licensing: CDL - 1 yr susp, OPR 90 day rest., HAZ-3yr susp.
  • Plate conf: None
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days [90-180 days if prior 653a(3)]
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None



 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Privacy policy