Michigan DUI Law

Michigan counties - map view

Michigan counties - map view

 

Michigan DUI Criminal Sentencing, 2nd Offense or 1 prior 904 suspension within 7 years

Summary of Michigan OUIL / OWI / DWI / UBAL Criminal Laws
Criminal Sentencing / Administrative Consequences - Repeat Offender
(Driving While Suspended Convictions)

DWLS §904(1)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Up to 1 year jail; up to $1,000 fine, or both.
  • Licensing: Mandatory additional under §904(10), (11) and (12)
  • Plate conf: None. (Cancel upon notice by officer)
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None

Knowing Allowed Someone to DWLS §904(2)

  • Misdemeanor Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: to 1 year jail; up to $1,000 fine, or both.
  • Licensing: Mandatory additional under §904(10), (11) and (12)
  • Plate conf: None. (Cancel upon notice by officer)
  • Immob: Permissive up to 180 days
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: None

DWLS Causing Death §904(4)

  • Felony Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Prison up to 15 years; $2,500-$10,000 fine, or both.
  • Licensing: Minimum 5 year revocation/denial
  • Plate conf: Required
  • Immob: Required up to 180 days, unless forfeited.
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: Permissive

DWLS Causing Serious Injury §904(5)

  • Felony Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Prison up to 5 years; $1,000-$5,000 fine, or both.
  • Licensing: Minimum 5 year revocation/denial
  • Plate conf: Required
  • Immob: Required up to 180 days, unless forfeited.
  • Reg Deny: None
  • Forf: Permissive

Knowingly Allowed Someone to DWLS Causing Death §904(7)

  • Felony Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Same as 1st offense.

Knowingly Allowed Someone to DWLS Causing Serious Injury §904(7)

  • Felony Fine/Jail/Comm Svc: Same as 1st offense.



 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Privacy policy