Find a Wayne County DUI Attorney


What Can Happen after a Michigan Drunk Driving Arrest

License Suspension

 After a Detroit OWI (operating while intoxicated) arrest, it is very easy to lose your driver’s license. The usual consequence after a first offense includes a 6 month license suspension with the option to apply for a restricted license after 30 days. However, if you refuse to take a chemical test when you are pulled over, your license can get suspended for up to 1 year. Additionally, if you do not schedule an administrative hearing with the Michigan Department of State within 14 days, you can lose your driver’s license regardless of the outcome of your criminal OWI case.

Mandatory Fines

After an OWI arrest in Detroit, Michigan, you will have to pay fines that can round up to $1,500. These fees are in addition to other fees you will need to pay for ignition interlock maintenance, alcohol education classes and driver’s license reinstatement.

Jail Time

After a first conviction in Michigan, you can spend up to 93 days in jail. However, there is no minimum jail time for a first conviction. Most times, you can perform community service or attend mandatory alcohol education classes and treatment in substitution for jail time. Speak with you attorney to see which options are best for you.

Additional Penalties

Depending on your case, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device or you can even get your vehicle impounded. These are terrible consequences that you should avoid with the help of an experienced Michigan OWI attorney. Don’t wait. Contact an experienced attorney right away!

Located in Detroit?

If you have been arrested for an OWI in Detroit, be sure to read the following articles to avoid a conviction!

6 Excuses Not to Use if Pulled Over in Detroit

How To Take a Field Sobriety Test in Detroit

Shots vs. Beer - Which Gets You Drunk Faster?


Listings are a paid attorney advertisement and do not in any way constitute a referral or endorsement by an approved or authorized lawyer referral service other than 1.800.DUI.LAWS.

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Privacy policy