Should You Plead Guilty to your Kansas City DUI?

A talented Kansas City DUI lawyer is worth the money!

You hear about people pleading guilty for DUI every day.  So, should you plead guilty or should you fight?  This is an easy one.  You should not plead guilty to a Kansas City DUI.  Let’s discuss some reasons why Kansas City DUI lawyers suggest that this is a bad idea.  

First of all, if you plead guilty you are saying that you committed the crime.  It’s that simple.  Your Kansas City DUI will forever remain on your record.  In addition, you will be punished for pleading guilty.  For a first time offense in Kansas City the penalties may include:  a $500 fine, jail time for up to 6 months, probation for 1-2 years, attending SATOP, license suspension for 30 days and a restricted hardship license for 60 days after the initial suspension, an ignition interlock device for your vehicle and no drinking during your probation.  As you can see, even for a first time offender, the punishments are not light.

You also need to keep in mind that the DMV has an interest in your driver’s license as well. If you plead guilty to a Kansas City DUI, you may not be driving for a long time.  So, basically by taking a guilty plea you are just adding more risk to your already risky future.  

In reality, pleading guilty is not going to get you the results you desire.  By finding qualified and experienced Kansas City DUI lawyers, you may be able to have the charges dismissed entirely.  Don’t just play into the courts hands and give up.  Contact a seasoned Kansas City DUI attorney who specializes in the field and will fight for your rights!

 

 

Listings are a paid attorney advertisement and do not in any way constitute a referral or endorsement by an approved or authorized lawyer referral service other than 1.800.DUI.LAWS.

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy