Buffalo, NY DWI Punishments

Firm Name: New York DWI Attorneys
Address: 260 Madison Avenue, Suite 1800
New York, New York 10016
Office #: 1-800-DWI-LAWS
(1-800-394-5297)

After a Buffalo drunk driving arrest, you could end up in jail, paying big fines, losing your license and more. Buffalo New York DWI laws are harsh. Your DWI penalties can depend on your BAC level, your history with DWI, if you refused a chemical test, or if you were involved in an accident. Make no mistake -- DWI penalties get stricter if you are a repeat offender. The information below will help you understand just how severe your DWI penalties can be if you are convicted. If you want to fight your charges and save yourself from serious DWI penalties, it’s imperative that you speak with a DWI attorney right away.

There is help if you reach out to a Buffalo DWI attorney who fully understands Buffalo New York DWI laws. A New York attorney who specializes in DWI laws can explain what your penalties could be if convicted, and the attorney may be able to explain tried and true methods for defending a Buffalo DWI case.

Remember, if you are convicted of Buffalo drunk driving, penalties differ for first, second, and third offenses, and depending on your blood alcohol level. However, these harsh penalties do not have to be your fate. Talk to a skilled Buffalo DWI attorney about your case. You can find out how your attorney can work to get a much better outcome in your case.  

PENALTIES FOR DWI IN BUFFALO, NEW YORK

1) Driving while impaired by alcohol

Traffic Infraction is the least serious Buffalo New York DWI offense

  • Fines range from $300.00 to $500.00
  • Up to 15 days in jail if there is no history of DWI
  • One prior DWI, fines increase to a maximum of $750.00 and 30 days in jail

Misdemeanor is two or more DWI offenses in New York

  • Fines range from $750.00 to $1500.00
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Mandatory 90 day suspension of your driver’s license with no prior DWI convictions
  • 6 month suspension with a prior DWI

2) Driving while intoxicated

Misdemeanor

  • fines range from $500.00 to $1000.00
  • jail time can be as much as one year in a NY prison
  • mandatory license revocation of 6 months

3) New York DWI as a felony

If you have been convicted of driving while intoxicated already, you will be facing felony charges. Penalties will be much more serious.

  • Fines range from $1000.00 to $5000.00
  • Probation for 5 years
  • Incarceration 1 1/3 years to 4 years

Buffalo New York DWI laws have become less and less lenient. The DWI penalties can interfere with your life for years to come. Prosecutors and judges are not holding back in court. If you are hoping to get back to your normal life, you should fight your Buffalo drunk driving charges with the help of a Buffalo DWI attorney or you could end up in jail. Take the time to contact a skilled DWI lawyer in your area for a free consultation.

Drunk driving defense is a specialized area. Let one of the qualified DUI LAWS attorneys find a solution to your legal problem if you, or someone you care about, has been arrested for DUI or DWI. Contact a DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free consultation at 1.800.DWI.LAWS.

Please note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance. 1800DUILAWS.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Privacy policy