Oklahoma DWI LAW
Oklahoma counties - map view
Choose your Oklahoma county to locate a DUI LAW Lawyer in your area.
Oklahoma DUI video transcription
The only way to stop the suspension of your Oklahoma driving privileges after a DUI arrest is to request the DPS Hearing within 15 days of arrest. This hearing request has nothing to do with your court date. You may be able to attain a work permit, to allow you to drive to work, or pick up your children, or take care of your other responsibilities. If you’ve been arrested in Oklahoma for DUI you should contact an attorney right away to protect your rights.
If you've been arrested for DUI, Oklahoma APC, DWI or other alcohol related offense in Oklahoma, you have only 15 DAYS from the date of arrest to request a hearing with the Department of Public Safety. Please Contact an Oklahoma DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free consultation by calling 1.800.DUI.LAWS.
Oklahoma DUI arrests trigger two separate cases: First, there is the Oklahoma DUI criminal case, where a variety of criminal punishments can be imposed by the court. These DUI punishments may include fines, jail, mandatory alcohol education, ignition interlock devices ordered, and more. However, every Oklahoma DUI arrest also gives rise to a separate civil action against that person's Oklahoma driving privileges. NOTE: IT IS URGENT THAT YOU driver's license. Oklahoma DUI cases therefore have two separate components, and each must be addressed separately. A consumption of alcohol and/or drugs.
Oklahoma DUI charges can also be brought against someone based purely on body chemistry, no matter how well they are driving. Oklahoma, like many other states, has a "per se" law, which means that it is a violation of Oklahoma DUI law to drive with a blood or breath alcohol level of able to drive with the caution characteristic of a sober person. Under the second theory of Oklahoma DUI prosecution, the focus is not on the driver, but only on the driver’s body chemistry.
Oklahoma DUI punishment and penalties for a first-offense DUI can include a fine, a jail sentence that can reach up to one year, the possibility of mandatory in patient treatment (if the breath test is .15% BAC or higher), 480 hours of ignition interlock on all vehicles.
Oklahoma DUI punishment for people with prior drunk driving convictions will increase substantially, both in terms of the court case and the driver’s license consequences from the DPS. It is not unheard of for Oklahoma DUI convictions to include fines of up to $5,000.00 and jail terms of up to 10 years, plus all of the other Oklahoma DUI consequences outlined above. It is possible to suffer a vehicle forfeiture because of an Oklahoma DUI conviction. QUALIFIED OKLAHOMA DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEY CAN EXPLAIN SUBTELTIES OF THE TWO.