Pennsylvania DUI / DAI LAW
 

Pennsylvania  counties - map view

Pennsylvania counties - map view

Choose your Pennsylvania county to locate a DUI / DAI LAW Lawyer in your area.

As of February 1, 2004, punishment for DUI convictions is divided into three tiers based upon alcohol levels as follows:

  1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 4th Offense
NEW LAW

.08 - .099 % BAC
Incapable of safe driving

Ungraded misdemeanor
6 months max. probation
$300 fine
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
CRN Evaluation
Pending CRN, full assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as part of sentencing
Ungraded misdemeanor
5 days min. imprisonment
$300 - $2,500 fine
12 month license suspension
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
Mandatory 1 year Ignition Interlock
CRN Evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
2nd degree misdemeanor
10 days min. imprisonment
$500 - $5,000 fine
12 month license suspension
Mandatory 1 year Ignition Interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
 
OLD LAW No current penalties for .08% BAL conviction No current penalties for .08% BAL conviction No current penalties for .08% BAL conviction  

NEW LAW

.10 - .159% BAL
Incapable of safe driving with crash/injuries
Minors (.02% BAL)
CDL drivers (.04% BAL) and school bus/vehicle drivers (.02% BAL)

Ungraded misdemeanor
48 consecutive hours imprisonment
$500 - $5,000 fine
12 month license suspension
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
CRN evaluation
Pending CRN, full assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as part of sentencing
Ungraded misdemeanor
30 days min. imprisonment
$750 - $5,000 fine
12 month license suspension
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
Mandatory 1 year Ignition Interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
1st degree misdemeanor
90 days min. imprisonment
$1,500 - $10,000 fine
18 month license suspension
Mandatory 1 year ignition interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
1st degree misdemeanor
1 year min. imprisonment
$1,500 - $10,000 fine
18 month license suspension
Mandatory 1 year ignition interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
OLD LAW
(Penalties not linked to BAC level)
2nd degree misdemeanor
48 hours consecutive hours imprisonment
$300 min. fine
12 month license suspension
Ignition Interlock optional
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
CRN evaluation and possible treatment if court orders
2nd degree misdemeanor
30 days min. imprisonment
$300 min. fine
12 month license suspension
Ignition Interlock mandatory
CRN evaluation
Mandatory treatment
1st degree misdemeanor
90 days min. imprisonment
$300 min. fine
12 month license suspension
Ignition Interlock mandatory
CRN evaluation
Mandatory treatment
1st degree misdemeanor
1 year min. imprisonment
$300 min. fine
12 month license suspension
Ignition Interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory treatment

NEW LAW

.16% BAC or higher
Controlled Substances
Incapable of safe driving after refusing testing

Ungraded misdemeanor
72 consecutive hours min. imprisonment
$1,000 - $5,000 fine
12 month license suspension
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
1st degree misdemeanor
90 days min. imprisonment
$1,500 min. fine
18 month license suspension
Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School
Mandatory 1 year Ignition Interlock
CRN Evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
1st degree misdemeanor
1 year min. imprisonment
$2,500 min. fine
18 month license suspension
Mandatory 1 year Ignition Interlock
CRN evaluation
Mandatory full D&A Assessment and compliance with D&A treatment as condition of sentencing
 
OLD LAW
(No current high BAC law in PA)
Same as penalties for .10% BAL - see above Same as penalties for .10% BAL - see above Same as penalties for .10% BAL - see above  

 

Please note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance. 1800DUILAWS.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy