Tennessee DUI LAW

Tennessee counties - map view

Tennessee counties - map view

Choose your Tennessee county to locate a DUI LAW Lawyer in your area.


 


Find a local TN DUI attorney and drunk driving defense lawyers and know what do to when you get a DUI.

Tennessee DUI Laws and Information:

Upon conviction for first offense DUI in Tennessee, a person is subject to a maximum sentence of 11 months, 29 days, with a minimum of 48 hours in jail or a minimum of 7 days in jail if at the time of the offense, the defendant's blood alcohol level was .20 or higher. Tennessee DUI laws also require a minimum $350.00 fine and court costs, the loss of a driver's license for a period of one year, and enrollment in a court-approved DUI education course. Attendance at AA meetings may also be required. As a result if you have been arrested in Tennessee you should contact a skilled attorney right away to protect your rights.

Tennessee DUI law is similar to the drunk driving laws in other states: Driving Under the Influence is one of the few crimes for which an individual can be convicted solely on the opinion of a police officer. While most Tennessee DUI offenses are classified as misdemeanors (although a fourth-offense is a Class E felony in Tennessee), the penalties for Tennessee DUI are typically much more serious.

DUI law in Tennessee requires the government to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the person was (1) operating or in physical control of (2) a motor vehicle on (3) any public road, highway, alley, parking lot, or any other premises generally frequented by the public while (4) under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher.

In Tennessee, DUI law defines a person as being legally under the influence "per se" if their blood alcohol level is .08% or higher. This is true even if there is no evidence that the person's ability to drive is actually impaired. An individual can also be convicted of DUI for driving under the influence of narcotics, even if a physician prescribed it.

Upon conviction for DUI First Offense in Tennessee, a person is subject to a maximum sentence of 11 months, 29 days, with a minimum of 48 hours in jail, or a minimum of 7 days in jail if, at the time of the offense, the defendant's blood alcohol level was .20% or higher.

Tennessee drunk driving laws also require a minimum $350.00 fine and court costs; the loss of driver's license for a period of one year; and enrollment in a court approved DUI education course. Attendance at AA meetings may also be required. License revocation for one year is also required when a defendant is found to have refused to submit to a chemical test (blood, breath, or urine) after being lawfully requested to do so. This may apply even where the defendant is not convicted of DUI.

Penalties for a second or subsequent conviction of DUI increase dramatically. On a second or subsequent offense, the vehicle used in the offense is subject to forfeiture. A fourth or subsequent conviction of DUI is classified as a Felony.

For more information, contact a Tennessee DUI attorney in your area today or call 1-800-DUI-LAWS.

Customers members or beneficiaries of the organization are informed that they may file a complaint of unethical conduct by a participating lawyer with the Board of Professional Responsibility, and informed of the method by which they may do so, as follows:

CONTACT
Board of Professional Responsibility
1101 Kermit Drive, Suite 730
Nashville, TN 37217
Phone: 615-361-7500; 800-486-5714
Fax: 615-367-2480
E-mail: ethics@tbpr.org


1800duilaws.com Accessibility Statement



Updated: March 2019.

General


1800duilaws.com strives to ensure that its services are accessible to people with disabilities. 1800duilaws.com has invested a significant amount of resources to help ensure that its website is made easier to use and more accessible for people with disabilities, with the strong belief that every person has the right to live with dignity, equality, comfort and independence.

Accessibility on 1800duilaws.com


1800duilaws.com makes available the UserWay Website Accessibility Widget that is powered by a dedicated accessibility server. The software allows 1800duilaws.com to improve its compliance with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1).


Enabling the Accessibility Menu


The 1800duilaws.com accessibility menu can be enabled by clicking the accessibility menu icon that appears on the corner of the page. After triggering the accessibility menu, please wait a moment for the accessibility menu to load in its entirety.


Disclaimer


1800duilaws.com continues its efforts to constantly improve the accessibility of its site and services in the belief that it is our collective moral obligation to allow seamless, accessible and unhindered use also for those of us with disabilities.

Despite our efforts to make all pages and content on 1800duilaws.com fully accessible, some content may not have yet been fully adapted to the strictest accessibility standards. This may be a result of not having found or identified the most appropriate technological solution.


Here For You


If you are experiencing difficulty with any content on 1800duilaws.com or require assistance with any part of our site, please contact us during normal business hours as detailed below and we will be happy to assist.


Contact Us


If you wish to report an accessibility issue, have any questions or need assistance, please contact 1800duilaws.com Customer Support as follows:

Email: info@legalbrandmarketing.com

 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Please let me know about DUI auto insurance

Privacy policy