Alaska DUI Laws

Alaska counties - map view

Alaska counties - map view


WARNING! You could lose your license and your freedom all because of your Alaska DUI arrest! Alaska DUI laws are harsh, and penalties will become even more severe if you have been convicted in the past, or if someone was injured during your DUI. However, there are ways to fight your DUI case. If you don’t want to suffer the consequences of a DUI arrest, reach out to a skilled Alaska DUI attorney right away. Your consultation is ALWAYS FREE.

You should know that according to Alaska DUI laws, your arrest will trigger two separate cases – a criminal case, and the fight for your driver’s license. Your criminal case could result in serious punishments like going to jail and paying huge fines. You may also be required to attend alcohol education classes, and to install an ignition interlock system in your vehicle. An Alaska DUI attorney will be able to fight your criminal charges, and could get you a much better outcome in your case. This is why it is so important after an Alaska DUI arrest, to reach out to one of our knowledgeable drunk driving lawyers right away.

Your criminal case can be prosecuted on one of two theories: either violation of Alaska’s "per se" law by driving with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08% or higher, or by driving while impaired. Impairment, for purposes of Alaska DUI laws, can be proved by driving patterns, field sobriety test performance, and chemical test results. A skilled DUI defense lawyer will know how to deal with each type of evidence in an Alaska drunk driving case. Thankfully, someone accused of drunk driving in Alaska has the right to a trial to defend him or herself in a court of law. If you need help with your DUI charges, contact a skilled attorney right away.

You are also facing a case against the DMV after your Alaska DUI arrest. YOU ONLY HAVE 7 DAYS TO REQUEST A HEARING WITH THE DMV AFTER YOUR ARREST TO MAKE SURE THAT YOU DON’T LOSE YOUR LICENSE! If you are unsure how to make this request, you must contact a skilled Alaska DUI attorney. Our lawyers can help you fight to save your license after your drunk driving arrest. Whether you submitted to a breath test or not, you could lose your license. If your BAC was above .08% or you refused to take the breath test, you are at risk of losing your license. The only way to possibly avoid this administrative revocation is to contest the revocation by requesting an Administrative Review/Hearing within seven (7) days of your arrest. Talk to one of our attorneys right away to get help.

Alaska DMV Actions

Even if you win your criminal case, according to Alaska DUI laws, you can still lose your license after your Alaska DUI arrest. However, it’s important to note that you can get a limited license for work purposes if you have a skilled Alaska DUI attorney on your side.

The period of the revocation varies depending on whether the driver has any DUI convictions in Alaska, or any other state. If the driver has no prior convictions for DUI or refusal, the revocation period is 90 days. You can get a limited license only during the last 60 days of this 90 day period if the revocation is for a breath test result of .08 or greater, but not for refusal. Talk to an attorney who can help you try and get a limited license.

Will you lose your license and for how long?

  •  If the driver has 1 prior DUI or refusal conviction, the revocation period is 1 year, with no opportunity for a limited work permit.
  •  If the driver has 2 prior convictions, the period of the revocation is for 3 years, with no opportunity for a limited work permit.
  •  If the driver has 3 or more DUI convictions, the revocation period is 5 years, with no opportunity for a limited work permit.

If your license is revoked by the DMV, you will need to pay a fee to the DMV, and take any additional testing they require in order to get your driving privileges reinstated. You will also be required to show proof of insurance for a period of 3 years after the revocation period ends. This usually involves increased insurance premiums.

How to "Contest" the Revocation?(Requesting an administrative review/hearing)

The revocation is initiated on the date of the arrest by the officer serving a copy of a "Notice And Order Of Revocation" on the driver who is arrested for suspicion of violating Alaska DUI laws. From the time that this documents is served on the driver, the driver has 7 days to request an Administrative Review/Hearing of the revocation. A person who contests the revocation by filing a request for a hearing within 7 days after the Notice And Order Of Revocation is given to the driver, may be successful in preventing the DMV from revoking his license. If the driver does not request a hearing within 7 days, the license revocation will go into effect the following day, by default, and the driver will not have an opportunity to contest the revocation period.

The Importance of the Administrative Hearings

Administrative Hearings can be critical to your Alaska DUI case. Even if you beat your criminal case, you can still lose your driver’s license. There may be grounds for defeating the revocation at the Administrative Review/Hearing, depending on the facts of your case.

Second, the Administrative Review/Hearing offers your Alaska DUI attorney the opportunity to cross-examine the officers involved in your arrest and investigation, so that important issues can be reviewed before the criminal DUI case is resolved. The sworn testimony of the officers is recorded, and can be very important in helping to resolve or win the criminal DUI case. This also provides an important way to impeach the officer if he attempts to testify in a different fashion later on at trial in the criminal case. Further, this will give you and your attorney the opportunity to hear the officer's testimony under oath, and obtain a better understanding of their observations and the extent of the evidence that they have against you.

Finally, if you request an Administrative Review/Hearing within 7 days, you will be granted temporary driving privileges by the DMV at least until the date of your Administrative Review/Hearing. Usually, the Administrative Hearing is scheduled within approximately 1 month after you request the hearing, although the hearing may be continued for a longer time after your attorney enters his/her appearance on your behalf.

If you are worried about what can happen after your drunk driving arrest, you must speak with a DUI attorney right away. You can fight your DUI charges and get a much better result in your case.

Drunk driving defense is a specialized area. Let one of the qualified DUI LAWS attorneys find a solution to your legal problem if you, or someone you care about, has been arrested for DUI or DWI. Contact a DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free consultation at 1.800.DWI.LAWS.

Please note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance. is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.


 (800) 384-5297

Find an Attorney

*Up to 3 attorneys will contact you

Privacy policy